Discord is for easy to use communication between friends and guildmates, sometimes it can be too much to handle. If someone no longer feels the need to use the service, they can completely delete their account. Unfortunately, Discord does not notify other members that an account has been deleted.
There is a fairly simple solution to find out if someone has deleted your account. However, it may also appear that you have been left unfriendly or banned. Let’s solve it together.
Has an account been deleted?
A key indicator for whether an account has been deleted is to verify the username. Username changes occur when someone completes the process of deleting your account.
It is important to mention that Discord offers users the option to deactivate instead of deleting an account. A disabled account will appear as the one that was deleted. If you’re looking for a deleted contact, it’s important to double-check the activity at a later date.
There are several ways for a user to customize interactions within the Discord platform. Blocking users, deactivating an account, deleting friendships with someone, and deleting an account are all at the mercy of the users.
Active users should look like this:
When an account is deleted, the account name changes to something similar to “DeletedUser #####”. The numbers that appear after “deleted user” can all be zeros or a group of randomly generated numbers. So if your friend is currently showing up in your “Friends List” like this, your account has been deleted.
The name may also appear in previously posted messages, including messages from server chat rooms, direct messages, and any other point of interaction on Discord.
Each account is associated with a unique identification number (in the case of the screenshot above, the identification number is “7098”) when creating the account. The account’s unique username and ID number are no longer meaningfully logged in once an account is deleted. This assures the person whose account has been deleted that their information and previously published text cannot be traced back to them.
Another indicator that an account has been deleted or disabled is that mutual friends that the two users will no longer show as “mutual connections.” This is due to the fact that the user with the deleted/deactivated account is no longer active.
If Discord has disabled an account for abuse or if a minor was running the account, the username will appear like the previous list. Whatever the reason; If you see “User deleted #####”, the account is no longer active.
For those who wish to permanently delete their Discord account, they can do so. By ensuring that even “DeletedUser #####” no longer appears on the platform, users can contact the support team at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Users will still be able to see a disabled or deleted account. If another user has blocked someone, the account will no longer appear. If you think it may have been blocked but you see “User deleted #####”, it means it has not been blocked.
If you can see that the username is still active, like the screenshot mentioned above, the account has not been disabled and has not been locked out. If you don’t see any account information, it just means you don’t have any friends.
Restore deleted account
Discord does not permanently delete account information for 30 days. If someone deleted your account and then decided to reactivate it, the task is possible.
Whatever the reason for deletion, you can restore the account as long as it has been within 30 days of deletion.
Also see: How to Save GIF from Twitter
Once the 30 days have passed, the account is permanently deleted with any personal information attached. This is done to comply with the requirements of the GDPR or the “General Data Protection Regulation“.
To restore the Discord account to its normal state:
- The user with the deleted account must log into Discord via the desktop application or the browser.
- A pending “Account planned for deletion” window should appear, indicating that your account has entered the countdown timer for permanent destruction.
- Right below the “I’m sure!” Button, you should see “Change your mind? Restore account“.
- Click Restore Account to access your account again.
- If you don’t see the dialog described during login to restore your account, it’s too late. The account is no longer available for restore and has been permanently deleted.
To create a new account, you must start the process again.
For accounts deleted courtesy of Discord, you will need to create new accounts. The IP address associated with your deleted account may also have been prohibited. This means that you will need to seek help from a VPN to bypass the ban and create a new account.